Hola Avila!

Basilica de San Vicente, Avila, Spain

Basilica de San Vicente, Avila, Spain

Since I am currently sick in bed, I decided to take this opportunity to write about the day trip that I took this past weekend to Avila, Spain! This small town is about an hour and a half outside of Madrid by bus, but it is well worth the drive! My friend and I took a bus through a company called Avanza bus, which was a very nice service that I would recommend to anyone looking to take a day trip from Madrid.

View of the city from the walls!

View of the city from the walls!

When we arrived at the bus station we had to walk an easy 15 minutes to get to the heart of the town. When we got there, we were surprised to see an overwhelming number of medieval buildings and structures. The whole town was absolutely beautiful! We had a chance to visit the Basilica de San Vicente (pictured above) and the Cathedral within the city walls. We also were able to walk the entire length of the city walls, which provided amazing views of the entire city and the surrounding countryside!

View of the Cathedral from the city walls

View of the Cathedral from the city walls

The medieval city walls!

The medieval city walls!

After we had walked the city walls, we happened to stumble upon signs for a circus later that day! We decided that it would be pointless to miss out on a circus, and so we decided to stay to see the circus! We stopped by a small cafe to get a glass of white wine and a toasted croissant with peach jam (which was absolutely heavenly) before heading over to the circus. We also met the cutest little puppy named Luna (pictured below) who I played with for about 5 minutes to satisfy my puppy craving! Once we got to the circus, it was so much fun. The performers were all great and it was a very unexpected experience, which made it that much better! Sometimes the spontaneous decisions are the best ones you can make!

Luna, my love <3

Luna, my love ❤

Overall, it was another very successful day trip to Avila, Spain. Budget wise it didn’t hurt either: 8 euros for the bus each way, 7 euros for the circus, 2.50 euros for entrance to the wall, 4 euros for the wine and croissant, and 3 euros for entrance to the Basilica, for a grand total of 32.50 euros. Not too bad for an amazing day trip and memories from Spain that will last forever! I would highly recommend this day trip to someone who has a little more time to spend in Spain, in addition to the classic day trips of Toledo and Segovia.

I only have three more days until I depart for PARIS, FRANCE and I could not actually be more excited! I have been dreaming about this city since the day I was born (well, almost!) and I cannot wait to see it in person! After that, my parents will be coming to Spain to visit for my Spring break. After visiting Madrid for a few days, we will travel to Barcelona, Spain and Lisbon, Portugal for a few days each! Stay tuned for my Paris and spring break travel posts!

Happy travels!

One thought on “Hola Avila!

Leave a comment